Calculating percentage

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Calculating percentage

Ho do I create a box that when I add a number, it subtracts that percentage from the cell above it? I want to subtract 15% from the cell amount of currency above it.
    i.e. 15% of $258.00

Place this as a calulation script in the target field, you must adapt the above field's name:

var nVal = Number(this.getField("cell_above").value) * 0.15;
    event.target.value = Number(this.getField("cell_above").value) - nVal;

Comment

Thank you JRB. The script works but as a newbie I would like to work it this way. I have 3 boxes stacked. The top one is 'subtotal', the next one down I want to type in the percentage of discount which for now is 15%, and the bottom box is the 'Total,', which then shows the total with the 15 % discount. The script you gave me works fine but it doesn't connect the the middle discount box where I would want to type in the amount of discount, which for now is 15%. For now, the 'Discount box ' is dead so I just put any number in there which is fine because your script works for the total box but it be great if I can type in a number the discount box and it automatically calculates it for the total box. Hope this makes sense. Thanks

Comment

JACKIEJAY
        I will submit your request to our engineer team and create a new JS for you, will back to you soon!

Comment

Here is it:

var nDiscount = this.getField("discount").value;
          var nPrice = this.getField("cell_above").value;

var nVal = Number(nPrice) * Number(nDiscount);
          event.target.value = Number(nPrice) - nVal;

Comment

Thanks so much for your effort. Not quite sure what part of scripts go into which boxes calculations fields. The Subtotal Box, Discount amount box, and the Total amount box. Plus the appropriate edits of your script to make it work.

Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot 2021-02-23 113911.jpg
Views:	100
Size:	19.3 KB
ID:	181711

Comment