Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Preferences ane not saved after closing in macos

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Preferences ane not saved after closing in macos

    Hello,
    I'm running foxit reader on a macos. Whenever I make any change in preferences and reopen the reader at a later time all the preferences are reset to default. Even the page I assume is only showed on the first run on a machine is shown every time I open a new document (screenshot attached). Is it a known bug? Any workaround?


    Click image for larger version  Name:	Screen Shot 2020-01-12 at 10.33.02.png Views:	0 Size:	693.7 KB ID:	175598
    .
    Attached Files

  • #2
    jowey ,I apologize for the trouble.Regarding this situation you mentioned,we still need your help to to provide with us the following information for further analysis:
    1:Your MAC os informatrion.
    2:Which version of Foxit Reader are you using?
    Look forward to your reply.

    Comment


    • #3
      Hi,
      I am using MacOS Catalina 10.15.2
      Foxit Reader 3.4.0.1012

      Comment


      • #4
        jowey ,Thanks for your quick response.This situation you mentioned has been submitted to our internal bug tracking system for our QA and Dev team to do further investigation with report ID#MACLNX-7116,we will keep you informed for any progress about this issue.

        Comment


        • #5
          I just wanted to state that I am experiencing the same issue, with the same macOS and Foxit Reader software versions.

          The software keeps and follows the preferences when I open new documents while it is still open, but as soon as I CMD+Q to close it, as jowey mentioned, it redisplays the first splash screen, and the preferences are forgotten.

          Thanks.

          Comment


          • #6
            mattagc

            Sorry for the trouble.Your case has been added to the case(MACLNX-7116), any updates, I will keep you posted.

            Comment


            • #7
              mattagc jowey ,Regarding the issue you mentioned in this thread,our QA team still need your help to give us the permission of your existing login account(administrator or normal user account) on your MAC system . Did you install Foxit Reader when you acessed your computer with your existing login account?
              Look forward to your reply.

              Comment


              • #8
                mattagc jowey ,For this issue "All settings includes the settings in Preferences ane not saved after closing in macos" you reported, firstly our QA team still need your help to give us the permission of your existing login account(administrator or normal user account) on your MAC system . Did you install Foxit Reader when you acessed your computer with your existing login account?
                If you already installed Foxit under admin account,please help to uninstall Foxit application from your computer and delete this 【Foxit Software】folder which is under the following location:
                【/Users/[current username]/Library/Application Support/】
                Then try to reinstall Foxit application again to see if it helps? If the issue still persists in the new installation,please help to use the licecap tool to generate an animated gif that shows your whole process:
                https://download.cnet.com/LICEcap/30...-75984664.html

                Look forward to your reply.

                Comment


                • #9
                  My user has admin privileges and Foxit reader was installed with this same user.

                  Below is a video of the installation process and the error occuring:

                  https://www.transfernow.net/21TtDi042020

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    I gave admin privilegies during the installarion process and I am using the same user.

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Another user here experiencing the same issue.

                      Uninstalled and .../Foxit Software folder deleted. Reinstalled again under the same user with the same result: it keeps showing the "Get Started" splash screen.

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Originally posted by jowey View Post
                        My user has admin privileges and Foxit reader was installed with this same user.

                        Below is a video of the installation process and the error occuring:

                        https://www.transfernow.net/21TtDi042020
                        @jowey,I am sorry that the video you sent on the page was already expired,so I can not download it.Would you please help to send it to us again?

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          This is happening to me too. FoxitReader340 (latest from this website) and MacOS 10.15.4.

                          I don't understand why a video is needed for this. Aren't there any Mac systems in-house? This should be very easy to reproduce, just install the latest on a Mac and see if settings stick.

                          This is preventing me from using this great product. I've uninstalled it until this is fixed. It works great on Windows.

                          Comment


                          • #14
                            pepepopo74 Sorry for the trouble. Since QA team cannot reproduce the issue so that we ask user to provide a video to show the whole process, hope you can understand.

                            Comment


                            • #15
                              Thanks for the reply. Are you saying that QA can't reproduce this issue even though many users are experiencing it? What version of Foxit Reader are they running and on what MacOS version?

                              I've attached a gif. The gif clearly shows that I went to Preferences, File Associations and unselected 'Always perform check ..."

                              I then exited the app and when I checked Preferences, File Associations the option is checked again.

                              This is happening across other options. Preferences, Accessibility is another one as is Preferences, Documents, Allow multiple instances.

                              Attached Files

                              Comment

                              Working...
                              X